Princess Leia
A Youtini Reading Guide
"She may not look like much of a princess, but she sure shoots like one."

Star Wars Books You Should Read If You Like
Princess Leia

The Princess who didn't need a white knight to rescue her, or impersonated stormtroopers for that matter, went on to become a General in the rebellion against the putrid Empire. A woman of strong mind and determination with top-notch political training, we could only be referencing Leia Organa Solo. As much as we learn about her on-screen, we can vastly expand (pun intended) on that knowledge and really see what and who shaped her into the profound woman she turned out to be. The books in this guide highlight her highs and lows, her sacrifices as a wife and mother, and her perseverance as an individual.

This reading guide is
Coming Soon
Our team is hard at work building out this collection. Stay tuned!

Books in this Collection

The team at Youtini has hand-selected these books because they fit this theme.
Leia: Princess of Alderaanamazon button
Young Adult Novel
Canon

Leia: Princess of Alderaan

Claudia Gray
3 BBY

In keeping with Alderaanian tradition, Princess Leia undergoes her Day of Demand, where she claims her right as heir to the throne and determines how she will prove herself worthy. Yet things have been tense between her and her adopted parents, Queen Breha and Viceroy Bail Organa. As Leia - also a member of the Empire's Apprentice Legislature - undertakes her challenges of the Body, Mind, and Spirit, she learns more about her adoptive parents than she ever suspected and begins her own journey that will forever change the galaxy.


Learn more about this book
Moving Target: A Princess Leia Adventureamazon button
Young Adult Novel
Canon

Moving Target: A Princess Leia Adventure

Cecil Castellucci and Jason Fry
3 ABY

Set between The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi, Moving Target is an excellent Leia novel setting up for the Battle of Endor. Han Solo is frozen in Carbonite, but that won’t stop Leia from leading the Rebellion against the Empire. She leads a ragtag group of Rebels in a mission to distract the Empire while the larger Rebel fleet prepares to act on the intelligence they’ve received about the Death Star being built at Endor. Moving Target is the only one of the Journey to the Force Awakens middle-grade novels set between Episodes V and VI, and features a compelling frame story with General Leia set just prior to The Force Awakens.

Learn more about this book
Empire and Rebellion: Razor's Edgeamazon button
Adult Novel
Legends

Empire and Rebellion: Razor's Edge

Martha Wells
2 ABY

After their victory in the Battle of Yavin, the Rebel Alliance make plans to set up a new base on the planet Hoth. Han and Leia set off to gather supplies for the base, but Leia is troubled when she encounters a group of Alderaanians who survived their planet’s destruction but had resorted to living as pirates. Razor’s Edge is a great Leia-centered story leading up to The Empire Strikes Back.

Learn more about this book
Empire and Rebellion: Honor Among Thievesamazon button
Adult Novel
Legends

Empire and Rebellion: Honor Among Thieves

James S. A. Corey
2 ABY

While Leia sets about negotiations to secure a new home for the rebellion, she sends Han Solo on a rescue mission. Scarlet Hark, a deep cover rebel agent has signaled extraction from a core world that also serves as a stronghold for the empire.

Han Solo is the man for the job, and he and Chewie oblige Leia's request, and as it often goes for our lovable rogue, Han finds himself in scrape after scrape, and escape after narrow escape as the plot becomes more complicated, and greater dangers are revealed.

Learn more about this book
The Truce at Bakura amazon button
Adult Novel
Legends

The Truce at Bakura

Kathy Tyers
4 ABY

A suspenseful and essential Legends story, The Truce at Bakura centers around an impending alien invasion, while the Imperials are not even aware of the Emperor's demise. The story is set directly after the events of ROTJ with the Rebels intercepting an Imperial distress call. Luke volunteers to lead a force in defense of Bakura in place of the Empire. Accompanied by Han and Chewie, Leia attempts to secure a truce between Bakura and the Rebels.

Luke is recovering from his battle with Palpatine and facing his own internal struggles, while Leia struggles to come to terms with being the daughter of Darth Vader.

Learn more about this book
The Courtship of Princess Leiaamazon button
Adult Novel
Legends

The Courtship of Princess Leia

Dave Wolverton
8 ABY

You know those novels your mom always had by her bedside, the ones with half-shirtless Fabio embracing a dainty lady in a thin gown? Well this is kind of like that, but Star Wars style. Han finds out that Leia has arrangements to marry another man for political reasons, but he’s not having it. His plan? Kidnap Leia so she can’t get married to anyone else. That’s romantic, right?

Learn more about this book
Tatooine Ghostamazon button
Adult Novel
Legends

Tatooine Ghost

Troy Denning
8 ABY

Newly married Han and Leia Solo travel to Tatooine to recover an Alderaanian painting known as Killik Twilight. This legendary painting holds a top-secret Rebel code that if the Empire were to recover would mean a disastrous ending for the Rebellion. However, the seemingly simple auction goes awry when the painting is stolen by Anakin Skywalker’s childhood friend. Leia and Han must quickly traverse the desert to ensure the painting doesn't fall into enemy hands.

Learn more about this book
Planet of Twilightamazon button
Adult Novel
Legends

Planet of Twilight

Barbara Hambly
13 ABY

Planet of Twilight takes place in the early New Republic. Leia is captured by a warlord that seeks to dismantle the New Republic, while Luke hears a message from Callista and seeks to help her, learning much about the Force in the process.

The novel is an exciting story about adventures in the Outer Rim, and is great for fans of Luke and Han. We recommend reading Children of the Jedi beforehand, as Planet of Twilight has ties to Luke’s storyline in that book.

Learn more about this book
Ambush at Corelliaamazon button
Adult Novel
Legends

Ambush at Corellia

Roger MacBride Allen
18 ABY

A steadily paced novel that explores our favorite characters in their adult and family lives, 14 years after the events of ROTJ. A more relaxed Luke accompanies Lando on a trip to attempt to find a suitable wife, while the Solo family along with Chewbacca travels to Han's home planet of Corellia.

Han and Leia's children serve sizable roles in this adventure, while experiencing a "normal" childhood adventure before the threat of disaster inevitably comes for the Solo family.

As the first book in a three-part series, Ambush at Corellia draws you in, builds on character relationships, and has the reader looking forward to the second installment.

Learn more about this book
Exileamazon button
Adult Novel
Legends

Exile

Aaron Allston
40 ABY

As the fourth book in nine book series, this novel continues to build on the plot lines of books 1-3. Exile also brings back Wedge, Lando, and Booster to help aid the main characters and their plot points. The story is told from multiple character perspectives and is packed with steady action.

We begin with Han and Leia in exile, Jacen Solo continues to struggle, while the tensions between the Alliance and the Confederation are at an all time high, and Ben Skywalker embarks on a solo mission that seems key to his character's development.

Learn more about this book
Abyssamazon button
Adult Novel
Legends

Abyss

Troy Denning
43 ABY

Abyss succeeds in moving the series forward while maintaining roots and connections to the rest of the Star Wars galaxy. This installment is not to be missed, full of battle sequences that keep the reader on the edge of their seat, philosophical exploration of Force themes, and struggles against the Galactic Alliance while combating a low public opinion of the Jedi!

Learn more about this book
Crucibleamazon button
Adult Novel
Legends

Crucible

Troy Denning
45 ABY

As the final novel in the Legends timeline, this story pits Luke, Leia, and Han against the highest stakes they've ever faced and, in more ways than one, concludes their adventures once and for all.

As the last Star Wars novel to fall into readers’ hands before Disney’s official canon reboot, it has not only brought a close to a decades-long adventure in the Star Wars universe, but also provides closure to the fans who have become invested along the way.

Learn more about this book
Star Wars Volume.11: The Scourging of Shu-Torunamazon button
Graphic Novel
Canon

Star Wars Volume.11: The Scourging of Shu-Torun

Kieron Gillen
2 ABY

In this volume, Leia is out for revenge on Queen Trios.  With Trios' betrayal of the Rebellion to Vader responsible for a major loss to the Rebels, Leia wants Trios to know that she is behind this attack.

The trio is finally brought back together after plot points took them in different directions and ready to pull of an epic attack on Trios and her planet of Shu-Torun.

Gillen beautifully wraps up the Shu-Torun plot and points our main characters to Hoth and into the beginning of Empire Strikes Back. This is a must read for all Star Wars fans!

Learn more about this book
Vader Downamazon button
Graphic Novel
Canon

Vader Down

Jason Aaron / Kieron Gillen
0 ABY

Marvel’s first Star Wars crossover event bridges Jason Aaron’s flagship title with Kieron Gillen’s Darth Vader series. Vader Down sees Vader up against the entire Alliance army. How dangerous can he be if backed against a wall? It’s also brings together each comic’s main characters into a single story: from R2-D2 and BT-1 to Princess Leia and Doctor Aphra.

Learn more about this book
The Storms Of Craitamazon button
Single Issue Comic
Canon

The Storms Of Crait

Ben Acker
2 ABY

Storms Of Crait is a great tie in comic to The Last Jedi. It gives the reader some more background on Leia's family life and the planet of Crait itself.

Aside from it showcasing the Rebel Alliance's first visit to Crait, we get to see the return of SCAR squadron and Sergeant Kreel, and who could forget the image of Wedge bludgeoning a Stormtrooper?! All in all, this is a great short read to satisfy your Star Wars cravings.

Learn more about this book
Empire Volume 4: The Heart Of The Rebellionamazon button
Graphic Novel
Legends

Empire Volume 4: The Heart Of The Rebellion

Various
0.5 ABY

Heart Of The Rebellion is broken into four anecdotes that depict Leia as she learns some difficult lessons about being a leader in the midst of a rebellion.

This page turning installment is set both before and after A New Hope and really focuses on adding depth to Leia's character while being packed with action. We see her growing feeling toward Han Solo, her development as a leader and coming to terms with the sacrifices they make.

Learn more about this book

Reading COllections You May Like

Report Error
Contact Us
Get Help
Help Center
Back
What is thy Bidding?
Report Error
Contact Us
There's a disturbance in the Force...
Noticed a bug or wish to report some inaccurate or missing information? Just fill out the form below!
Thank you! Your contribution is appreciated!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
What is thy bidding?
Want to get in touch or have a question?Just fill out the form below! Or tweet at us!
Thank you! We will be in touch soon!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.