Bail Organa
A Youtini Reading Guide
“Bail Organa was a man not given to profanity, but when he caught a glimpse of the source of that smoke from the pilot’s chair of his speeder, the curse it brought to his lips would have made a Corellian dockhand blush.”

Star Wars Books You Should Read If You Like
Bail Organa

Bail Organa is truly one of the great unsung heroes in Star Wars. Brought to life on screen by Jimmy Smitz, Senator Organa is the adoptive father to Princess Leia herself. He's also Regent of Alderaan, friend to Jedi Masters Yoda and Obi-Wan Kenobi. As co-conspirator and ally to Padmé Amidala, Bail is one of the founders of the Rebel Alliance. He represents a politician trying to achieve change from within the system, as opposed to burning it all down. He is one of the unique and brave characters without Force-sensitivity Star Wars as he maintains an external loyalty to the Republic-turned-Empire, while secretly fighting for good in the Rebel Alliance. If you were excited to have him return for Rogue One, you’ll love these books.


While the majority of Bail Organa screen time is in Clone Wars and Rebels, he cértainly gets some standout moments in the Expanded Universe. Of course, you can't go wrong with Matthew Stover's masterpiece of a novelization in Revenge of the Sith. He plays a pivotal role in Claudia Gray’s Bloodline, revealing Leia’s true parentage via hologram long after his death. Gray’s Leia YA novel is about her becoming a part of the Rebel Alliance alongside her father while still living at home on Alderaan. It shows him as a father torn between his commitment to his family and his conscience to save the galaxy from tyranny. Perhaps his best Legends appearance is Clone Wars: Wild Space, where he first forges his friendship with Obi-Wan while stranded on a Seperatist planet. A standout comic is Republic 61: Dead Ends, collected in the Legends Epic Collection Vol. 2, where his ship is hijacked by pirates. He is seen alongside his wife Breha in the final moments of Alderaan before its destruction by the Death Star in “Eclipse,” a short story in From a Certain Point of View, written by Madeleine Roux.

This reading guide is
Coming Soon
Our team is hard at work building out this collection. Stay tuned!

Books in this Collection

The team at Youtini has hand-selected these books because they fit this theme.
Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sithamazon button
Adult Novel
Loosely Canon

Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith

Matthew Stover
19 BBY

Every Star Wars movie has an accompanying novelization, but none so impressive as Revenge of the Sith. While it expertly tells the story of the film, it also manages to add to it in unexpected ways. Not only is it the best novelization, it’s a fantastic work of fiction in and of itself.

Matthew Stover outdoes himself in this novelization by painting Obi Wan, Anakin, and the rest of the Jedi as glorified super heroes in the eyes of the common man in the Star Wars universe. Somehow, this raises the stakes of one of the most intense episodes of the saga and makes Anakin’s ultimate fate even more impactful.

Learn more about this book
The Clone Wars: Wild Spaceamazon button
Adult Novel
Legends

The Clone Wars: Wild Space

Karen Miller
22 BBY

This remarkable Clone Wars novel is largely a buddy-cop adventure starring Obi-Wan and Senator Bail Organa. And Obi-Wan famously isn’t overly fond of politicians. But in order to escape Zigoola, they’ll have to find common ground. This book serves as an important piece of the connectivity puzzle linking Episodes II, III, and IV, as Organa and Kenobi forge a friendship that will serve pivotal to galactic events.

Taking place early in the Clone Wars timeline, Wild Space is the story of Obi-Wan and Bail Organa going in search of a Sith holocron on the far away planet of Zigoola.

The Clone Wars novels are very accessible to fans with all levels of prior knowledge. You don’t have to have seen a single episode of the TV series or have read any other Star Wars books to be able to enjoy this. However, it features Ahsoka as a sideline character and takes place alongside Clone Wars Season One episodes Downfall of a Droid and Duel of the Droids.

Learn more about this book
Leia: Princess of Alderaanamazon button
Young Adult Novel
Canon

Leia: Princess of Alderaan

Claudia Gray
3 BBY

In keeping with Alderaanian tradition, Princess Leia undergoes her Day of Demand, where she claims her right as heir to the throne and determines how she will prove herself worthy. Yet things have been tense between her and her adopted parents, Queen Breha and Viceroy Bail Organa. As Leia - also a member of the Empire's Apprentice Legislature - undertakes her challenges of the Body, Mind, and Spirit, she learns more about her adoptive parents than she ever suspected and begins her own journey that will forever change the galaxy.


Learn more about this book
Rogue Oneamazon button
Adult Novel
Canon

Rogue One

Alexander Freed
0 BBY

Plucked directly from the opening credits of A New Hope, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story brought us exactly the type of adventure that fans had been longing for. The dark yet hopeful tone of the film is mirrored beautifully in the words of Alexander Freed in this novelization as he weaves the tale of Jyn and her compatriots.

As opposed to some other film adaptations, Freed uses this opportunity to create a novel that can truly stand on its own regardless of the reader's previous history with the film. And if you loved Rogue One as much as we did, you'll be awed by his masterful characterizations of the beloved team as they're plunged into the most harrowing moments of their lives.

Learn more about this book
Bloodlineamazon button
Adult Novel
Canon

Bloodline

Claudia Gray
28 ABY

After the fall of the Empire, the Senate is split into the Populist and Centrist parties. Both profess the goal of restoring the Republic, though they are unable to set aside their opposing views. Tired of the pointless bickering within the Senate, Leia takes on one final mission before retiring. However, the mission proves to be bigger than she originally thought, inducing chaos and unveiling corruption.

Leave it to Claudia Gray to make politics exciting with action and drama! Bloodline is also an excellent gateway into the sequel trilogy, making this an essential read for fans interested in that era.


Learn more about this book
From A Certain Point of Viewamazon button
Adult Novel
Canon

From A Certain Point of View

Various Authors
0 ABY

A truly unique and heroic feat in Star Wars publishing, From a Certain Point of View is a compilation of forty short stories by more than forty incredible authors to retell the story of A New Hope in celebration of its fortieth anniversary. Not only did Del Rey assemble a massive team consisting of their catalog of regular Star Wars writers such as Chuck Wendig, John Jackson Miller, and Claudia Gray, they managed to rope in many award-winning authors to pen their first stories in a galaxy far, far away. Such authors include Ken Liu, Sabaa Tahir, Zoraida Córdova, and Rae Carson. All of the book’s authors donated their pay to First Book, a nonprofit dedicated to improving literacy.

The stories represent the points of view of many of the notable side characters from A New Hope, such as Wedge Antilles, Greedo, and Grand Moff Tarkin. But they don’t stop there. The book benefits from forty years of expanding the Star Wars universe, and as such many characters not originally in the original film provide perspective in creative ways–Lando Calrissian, Yoda, Breha Organa, and even Qui-Gon Jinn! It is a compilation not only of characters and authors, but also styles and tones. At times heartbreaking, hilarious, and head-scratching. Some stories will connect differently with different readers. It certainly has something for everyone and is a remarkable read.

Learn more about this book
Legends Epic Collection: The Clone Wars Volume 2amazon button
Graphic Novel
Legends

Legends Epic Collection: The Clone Wars Volume 2

Various

This massive Clone Wars-era comics collection has everything: Anakin leading a team of Padawans, Mace Windu at his most fearsome, Asajj Ventress behaving as villainously as ever, Bail Organa's ship attacked by pirates, and even a Tuskan Raider Jedi!

Learn more about this book
The Force Unleashedamazon button
Adult Novel
Legends

The Force Unleashed

Sean Williams
3-2 BBY

What if Vader had taken on a forbidden apprentice with whom he planned to overthrow the Emperor’s reign? The Force Unleashed answers this question by following the story of the nameless apprentice as he carries out several missions at Vader’s bidding. However, as he explores the galaxy and builds new relationships with those other than his merciless master, the apprentice begins to question his own role in the fate of the galaxy.

In The Force Awakens, Sean Williams composes a brand new story perfectly wedged into a well-known time period complete with a full cast of refreshing new characters. As a stand-alone or a part of the larger saga, this story is a fun read for any fan.

Learn more about this book
The Force Unleashed IIamazon button
Adult Novel
Legends

The Force Unleashed II

Sean Williams
1 BBY

In the second installment of this series, a new version of Starkiller returns! However, this Starkiller is desperate to break free of Vader’s influence, knowing that his master has no loyalty to him. With a head full of memories and Force visions that don’t add up, Starkiller escapes and searches for the comrades he once knew: Juno and Kota. With the right help, Starkiller has one mission in mind: to end his struggle with Darth Vader once and for all.

Sean Williams manages to further enmesh Starkiller into the fabric of the Original Trilogy by pulling in even more familiar faces. Fans of Starkiller, Darth Vader, or avid video gamers who want to read the story they’ve already played should definitely pick this up.

Learn more about this book

Reading COllections You May Like

Report Error
Contact Us
Get Help
Help Center
Back
What is thy Bidding?
Report Error
Contact Us
There's a disturbance in the Force...
Noticed a bug or wish to report some inaccurate or missing information? Just fill out the form below!
Thank you! Your contribution is appreciated!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
What is thy bidding?
Want to get in touch or have a question?Just fill out the form below! Or tweet at us!
Thank you! We will be in touch soon!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.